The Money Code Book Review and Giveaway (Gone)



I had the pleasure of reading the brand new personal finance book, The Money Code.

I was sent a free copy to review for this blog and have a copy to give away!

And I’m happy to say that I loved The Money Code as it is a different kind of personal finance book.

It’s structured as a fictional story about a man who is seeking answers to a better financial situation.

On his journey, he learns about the mysterious Alchemist, who teaches him 5 secrets to living his best financial life.

The story ties in points and things to consider when making financial situations. The Money Code covers a big issue – how couples should talk about money to avoid arguments, hurt feelings, etc. These tips alone are worth reading the book for.

The simple yet engaging story illustrates how to make better financial decisions for yourself and your family.

Interview with the Author

I had the opportunity to interview the author, Joe John Duran (via email). He is the CEO and founding partner of United Capital, a wealth counseling firm, and author of 2 other books – Start It, Sell It, and Make A Mint and The First Time Investor’s Workbook.

the money code

Fanny Seto: How did you come up with the concept for this book?

Joe John Duran: From seeing people repeat the same financial mistakes over and over because they ignored their emotions and made bad decisions.

FS:  What do you hope people will get out of The Money Code?

JJD: That they will live better lives and feel less anxiety and stress when thinking and talking about money.

FS:  What is the most important thing to consider when making financial decisions?

JJD: That you are an emotional creature and have biases that might lead you to make bad decisions.

FS: How can couples avoid arguments over money?

JJD: By understanding how each person feels about money (their biases), speaking in their language and not judging each other.

FS: How can couples work more as a team?

JJD: By agreeing on their priorities and values together and then making decisions that align their ideal financial life with their real life.

The Money Code just came out on 1/22/13 and is available on Amazon. I hope it helps you make better financial decisions.

Enter to win a FREE copy of The Money Code!

Answer this question in the comment section: What’s the hardest part about managing money?

For example: Is it figuring out how to make more money, figuring out how to save more money, sticking to a budget, getting out of debt, or something else?

One winner will be picked to win a copy of The Money Code, using random.org.

You must be 18 years or older and a US resident to enter.

This contest ends on 1/30/12 at midnight PST. 

 


  14 comments for “The Money Code Book Review and Giveaway (Gone)

  1. Tamica
    January 24, 2013 at 10:08 am

    The hardest part about managing money for me is choosing between getting my kids something and the money was meant for something else and than being consistent with a budget once put together. I don’t even want to look at my account everyday.

    • juliett
      January 29, 2013 at 12:35 pm

      I think the hardest part of managing money is to get close to your goal and then resisting the discipline that it took to get there. So close and yet so far.

  2. Margie
    January 24, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    The hardest part about managing money for my husband and I is being able to pay the bills and saving first before the weekend. We can be disciplined during the week but the weekend comes and my husband wants to spend.Also, making sure that we pay or schedule to pay the bills the day my husband gets paid.

  3. Heike
    January 24, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    The hardest part of managing money is saying no to activities that I want to do – dinner, movies, etc.

  4. Shirley Jean
    January 24, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    The hardest part about managing money is sticking to my monthly budget.

  5. Gail
    January 25, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    The hardest part for me is getting ahead of the bills. I’m always two steps behind since being out of work for 2 years.

  6. Luisa
    January 25, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    The hardest part Managing money is having different paydays every month. When you work for the government (which my husband who is the only person working in our 6 member household) doesn’t pay on the same days every month, so it’s hard to balance our budget.

  7. Janice
    January 25, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    The hardest part of managing money is being on the same page with my spouse. Also – making and sticking to a budget.

  8. tara mazza
    January 26, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    The hardest part for me is deciding how much time to bargin hunt, coupon, etc….or if that time is better spent working and earning the money to pay a higher asking price. I wish there was ine website, or reference that i knew of that could help me make that decision on a daily basis.

  9. Anna Wehunt
    January 27, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    The hardest thing is getting my husband to sit down and talk about finances.

  10. Ashlee Todd
    January 28, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    The hardest part is staying on top of everything and staying on budget.

  11. David Coutcher
    January 30, 2013 at 9:09 am

    I think the hardest thing is taking the time to get organized and then staying on top of it. Also, making sure you involve your spouse and coming up with the same goals and values in order to manage money as a family.

  12. Sandy Nadrich
    January 30, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    Sticking to a budget! Absolutely!

  13. January 31, 2013 at 12:25 am

    A change in our earnings has caused me to realise I need to overcome the emotional ‘comfort spend’ – it may only be little things such as a latte in a buzzing coffee house or a glass of merlot in a warm pub. These ‘little’ things often threaten to mess up our already-tight budget. I’m working on recreating my favourite spaces and moments in my own home now, and loving it!

Comments are closed.